Fisher Governance Award

John W. and Janice B. Fisher Governance Award

The John W. and Janice B. Fisher Governance Award annually recognizes the important role that board members play in the governance of nonprofit organizations serving citizens of Delaware County. The award honors the efforts of a single board member whose strategic planning and oversight skills have contributed to the achievement of the organization’s mission, financial stability and general effectiveness. Nominations should identify specific ways the board member has demonstrated an outstanding commitment to the organization.

The Fisher Governance Award includes a $10,000 grant to the organization that the honored board member represents.

How to apply

Eligibility: Nonprofit organizations based in Delaware County can nominate candidates for the John W. and Janice B. Fisher Governance Award. Each nominee should have served on the board of the organization for a minimum of two years. Please be specific in describing when and how a candidate provided exemplary leadership and exhibited Integrity, responsibility and accountability.

Note: Board members of foundations are not eligible for this governance award.

Timeline:  The Foundation accepts nominations between March 1 and August 15 each year. BBF staff and family board members review the nominations, make the selection in September and present the $10,000 award in October.


Application deadline is August 15.

Previous Recipients:

James Rosema
Muncie Mission Ministries

Leigh Edwards
Muncie Civic Theatre

John Craddock
Community Enhancement Projects, Inc.

Ron Orebaugh
Delaware County Soil & Water Conservation District

Juli Metzger
Boys & Girls Club of Muncie
Project Leadership

Pat Botts
Greater Muncie, IN Habitat for Humanity

Nancy Turner
Muncie Public Library

Jeff Parsons
Youth Opportunity Center

Teresa Willman
Cardinal Greenway, Inc.